Dragon’s Loyalty Award: What’s the Real Meaning?

dragonsloyaltyawardOnce Upon a Time…there was a fair but middle-aged maiden and this is her quest for the meaning of the great Dragon’s Loyalty Award:

I haven’t been posting in the magical world, Blogosphere, a month yet and I’ve already come upon some wonderfully interesting people. Wasn’t sure if anyone would be interested in my blabberings about old books; but then, low-and-behold (yes, that’s how I talk and it fits with my theme here) that square white thingy in the corner of my screen had changed color!

The Vintage Book Fairy’s first visitor! It was a comment, sent from a raven-haired young lady in a far, far away land known as Little Orange World; YunitaGena from Indonesia — or, Yuna, to her bloggie friends:

wow, quite classy taste. nice :)

Sweet, right?

I learned more of Yuna, a bubbly young woman–who digs the color orange and taking excursions–trying to make it in her country, much like the young women in the States, with a grasp of English I admire and enjoy. She was recently granted the Dragon’s Loyalty Award and passed the honor along to me (and others). Thank you, Yuna!!!

I was extremely grateful for the kind gesture, but, I was also perplexed. Loyalty? For what, to whom? And, why a dragon? Yuna did not know either, so I decided to follow the trail of past recipients to look for the origin and meaning.

The Dragon’s Loyalty Award is a fairly new one to show up on WordPress; that’s fine, but the meaning is a bit uncertain, in my humble new-comer opinion. This is what my quest uncovered; you decide:

Let’s begin with Kindredspirit23 (March 8, 2013)

As for the wonderful pic of the “Dragon Loyalty Award” that needs some explaining.  I enjoy starting my posts with a pic.  I looked up awards on Google and enjoyed this one.  So, I just wanted to clarify that I really didn’t mean for it to become a new award!  However, let me give it fair credit as the pick came from:  Parajunkee  .  Now, if it is legal and all to  continue passing the picture, I love it.  I would ask that you embed or give the credit mentioned above.  There, I think we have covered the basis.

*credit to Parajunkee, check* But, was this the originator? No. It was passed on from Just Random Stuff –who has not posted since 2010–and I could not find any reference to the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. Alas, the hunt for the award’s originator will have to be filed as a cold case for now. However, I did find reference to its original meaning on Parajunkee’s blog, which interestingly is on Blogspot, not WordPress: (September 2009)

The Dragon’s Loyalty Award is an award for the loyal fan/commenter, whether the recipient is a fellow blogger or just a someone who follows and comments regularly.

Got it; loyal follower and/or commenter. Makes sense to me. You with me so far?

Now back to Scott at Kindredspirit23. He has an awesome blog and lots of fans; he was given two awards around the same time, so he decided to combine them in one post and used the dragon pic because…it was just a cool pic.  As mentioned, he did not intend for it to become a new award, but it took flight anyway — without its original meaning of Loyalty.

Instead, under new WordPress usage, the Dragon’s Loyalty Award was morphed from the combination of these two fine WP awards:

So, at the end of my quest, that’s what we’re left with: one award with two meanings (huh, like the Constitution). Regardless, the WP Kingdom Rules that should be followed are the same:

  1. Display the Award Certificate on your website 🙂

  2. Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award 🙂

  3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers (I won’t hit fifteen right away)

  4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post 🙂

  5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself. 🙂

I have decided to honor the original intent of the Dragon’s Loyalty Award for two reasons: 1) I have not been around long enough to deserve the combined award; and, 2) on the same day, I was also given a second award(!) that I will address in a separate post.

Seven (loyal) things about me!

1. I am a tea-aholic; introduced to me–many moons ago–by my grandmother over a game of Crazy Eights. Usually hot in the winter, iced in the summer – all day long!

2. Love the game of baseball. Unless the Yankees are playing, I will root for the underdog – even the Red Sox (shh, don’t tell my boys!).

3. I have voted in every election since I was eligible.

4. Family first, everything else follows.

5. I hope I show as much loyalty as does my Springer Spaniel.

6. I prefer my PC (although I’ve finally graduated to a laptop), my telephone (that’s a land-line, to you youngsters), and I still use AOL.

7. Pepperidge Farm Milano cookies will always remain my favorite, but I will no longer eat them.

And…here are my choices of loyal subjects, er blogs, (so far) for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. While I am including those bloggers that have been with me from the beginning of this wonderful adventure and/or those that have been kind enough to follow, comment and reblog  – you, dear recipient, may treat this as you wish.  Thank you, again Yuna – Colleen 🙂

~ The End ~

http://theseeker57.wordpress.com/about/

http://historykicksass.wordpress.com/about/

http://neuroresearchproject.com/about/

http://literarylew.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/enlightenment-visits-me/

http://lovinchelle.wordpress.com/

http://toemail.wordpress.com/

http://pennipete.wordpress.com/

http://poppycockandsomesuchnonsense.wordpress.com/

http://boomdeeadda.wordpress.com/

 

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Dragon’s Loyalty Award: What’s the Real Meaning?

  1. Pingback: Dragons Loyalty Award – No Dragons Involved :-) | Substance AND Style

  2. I concur with Yuna; it’s been a long time and I hope everything is well. Missing you!

    Victoria

    • Yuna says:

      Hi Victoria,
      Yess, i do hope everything is well with Moore. She even hasn’t been replaying any comment. *curious* really miss her posting :).

      • moore314 says:

        Hi Yuna!!! After a lengthy illness and recovery, I’m back and feeling better than ever! I was so glad to see that you are still blogging and it looks fantastic! I’ll be catching up with your posts to see what you’ve been up to. So sweet of you and Victoria to be worried about me. I PROMISE not to abruptly leave again! Colleen

    • moore314 says:

      So sweet of you to be concerned. I am back and feeling better than ever. MS raised it’s ugly head over the summer, but I beat it back with a big stick and lots of therapy! Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to! Colleen

  3. Yuna says:

    Hi Moore,
    it’s been long time 😀
    hope everything is well there.

  4. Pingback: Badges of Honor « Hoof Beats and Foot Prints

  5. Pingback: Have You Heard of The Dragon’s Loyalty Award?

  6. Pingback: Re-Gifting…or White Elephant…or | theseeker

  7. My goodness, Colleen, I am honored. Thank you seems so trite at the moment. Congratulations are in order for you. 😀 Yes, I am loyal to your blog and for good reason. You and your blog Rock!

  8. Boomdeeadda says:

    Very nice! Congratulations. I have a nominations page over at my Blog I will happily post your nom and link it back to you 😀 Have a wonderful day Colleen!

  9. lovinchelle says:

    congratulations to you, fair lady. truly, you deserve these awards far more than i. you are wonderful to follow and pay attention to here on wordpress. I love all your comments to me and i am humbled by your nominatrion. Thank You very much

    • moore314 says:

      Pish posh – you’re very welcome! I very much enjoy your artistic eye as it shows in the photos. Thank you for your kind remarks, I’m really enjoying writing again, meeting creative people and sharing one of my passions.

  10. Yuna says:

    Hi Moree,
    wow, what a nice saying about me, you make my smile widely open for such a compliment. thank you for enjoying my post and my English,,,because at first i was afraid to post everything in English, i wasn’t born in a country with English as its main language or never been lived in one of them too.
    about the meaning of this award. thank you for digging it so far. i already traced back maybe to the 7th award giver but non of them mentioned its meaning. and this is so nice.
    So, i was right for choosing friends whom i enjoy having the conversation with 🙂

    • moore314 says:

      LOL did you like that? I put both of us in a fairytale! Are you kidding me about your English – I DO KNOW that I couldn’t speak one word of Indonesian! I took French in high school and barely remember it! 🙂

      • Yuna says:

        Yess, i did. sometimes i dream about living in a fairytale. childhood dream or childish dream?
        hehehehe, so I’ll be more confidence with my English then and i should learn more. Thank you :).
        that’s what happened when we don’t use our non-mother language frequently. we barely remember it. So that’s one reason why i always try to use English.
        i took Japanese in high school too and what i still remember are ganbatte and arigatou; cheers and thank you. LOL.

        Speaking of that square white thingy in the corner of our screen’, i love to see it changes its color. it means I’ll have some conversation and it turns into orange on my screen. so i love it more.

  11. seeker says:

    Colleen, you are too funny. You do deserve those two awards. Keep them for now and pass forward later. Thank you for nominating. And congratulations to you!.

Please Leave a Reply

