Peek Into the Minds of Classic Authors

remembertoremember

Henry Miller, 1946

I’ve been stuck in a post. While I air-out my brain and regroup, I share Emily Temple’s fascinating compilation; a peek into the minds of famous authors. What were they thinking?

I’ve appropriately chosen Henry Miller’s, Remember to Remember. Do you have a favorite? Better yet, what would yours look like?

From Emily Temple at Flavorwire: The Fascinating Self-Portraits of 20 Famous Authors

This entry was posted in Authors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peek Into the Minds of Classic Authors

  1. Better yet, what would yours look like?

    Well, my gravatar pic is a type of self-portrait. I did an Andy Warhol type effect. In fact, when I was thinking about doing another blog which would be more personal, I initially created a blog titled “Color Me Victoria”. I never published anything on it and eventually deleted it. I ended up going with Victoria N℮üґ☼N☮☂℮ṧ because I have made a lot of videos under the name NeuroNotes on my YT channel, and would also be referring to some of the research listed on my NeuroNotes blog, so decided to keep the connection for continuity.

    What about you, Colleen? Do you have a self-portrait? If not, have you ever thought about what one would look like?

  2. Looked at your self-portraits line. Very cool. My favorite was by Margaret Atwood. It’s so unusual, and I’m not quite sure about the symbolism. I understand the hair part, as she has thick, curly hair. With the body, the first thought that came to my mind was a love for air and water. I often dream of flying in the air, and being, swimming in the ocean, able to breathe.

    OK – just looked her up on Wiki:

    “Margaret Atwood has repeatedly made observations about our relationships to animals in her works. In Surfacing, one character remarks about eating animals: “The animals die that we may live, they are substitute people…And we eat them, out of cans or otherwise; we are eaters of death, dead Christ-flesh resurrecting inside us, granting us life.” Some characters in her books link sexual oppression to meat-eating and consequently give up meat-eating. In The Edible Woman, Atwood’s character Marian identifies with hunted animals and cries after hearing her fiancé’s experience of hunting and eviscerating a rabbit. Marian stops eating meat but then later returns to it.

    In Cat’s Eye, the narrator recognizes the similarity between a turkey and a baby. She looks at “the turkey, which resembles a trussed, headless baby. It has thrown off its disguise as a meal and has revealed itself to me for what it is, a large dead bird.” In Atwood’s Surfacing, a dead heron represents purposeless killing and prompts thoughts about other senseless deaths.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margaret_Atwood

    In retrospect, this excerpt, and other things mentioned on the wiki page, along with her self portrait ignites the imagination with its varied symbolisms. Also, she is a feminist. So, as a woman, myself, I can also see the symbolism of women being referred to as ‘meat’. I even have an image, in my Semantic Dehumanization post, with a woman packed as meat.

    Very cool post, Colleen. Thanks for sharing.

    • moore314 says:

      Well, you’ve done it again, Victoria. We must be hanging out in the same energy field, or something! First, just the other day, I pulled out one of Atwood’s short story books. I want to start reading and studying good literature in an effort to improve my writing. Now, I have never read any of her work. I think this copy was my Dad’s (he was a writer).
      Second, you’re concentration on her distaste for meat is uncanny. Here’s the connection I immediately made: I have a neighbor turned close friend over the last decade. She is 58 and was just given the news, two days ago, that she has uterine cancer. So that’s obviously on my mind. But, get this. Over the last decade she has gradually gone vegan! She would often tell me how meat disgusts her and she just couldn’t stomach it any more. She’s also turned into a ferocious animal rights advocate. She’s always sending me cute animal pics on FB, with captions like, Can you eat this beautiful face? We laugh about it, but she has very strong feelings about it and I respect that. (I should go vegetarian, but I’m not ready to give up the small amount of meat I eat just yet. I grew up Irish – meat and potatoes, then more meat and potatoes!)
      The Atwood book I have is Dancing Girls and Other Stories. A quick scan and I didn’t see any animal references. But, I’m glad you brought those stories to my attention because I think I’ll get that for my friend. She appreciates good literature AND she is a freelance editor!
      Great comments – thank you! You have a big day tomorrow, don’t feel the need to comment back! 🙂

  3. “I’ve been stuck in a post.”

    Oh how I can relate. I have multiple drafts on both blogs that serve to remind me of this very fact. It is quite possible that I have more drafts than I have published posts. ;D

  4. seeker says:

    I love these self-portraits. Good find and share.

    • moore314 says:

      Thanks! Wait until you see the next one (that I’ve been stuck on) – monks, pilgrimages in the Middle Ages – makes me think of you! Well, not the Middle Age part LOL

Please Leave a Reply

