Shameful Vintage Books About Homosexuality

This came across my Google feed for vintage books. Not sure what appalls me more:

The “authors” of these books that obviously cared more about their wallets than their morals; or, the torn, confused young people that faced a hostile, sometimes violent, world.

A fascinating look at some of the historical and cultural aspects of homosexuality through these vintage books.

Autostraddle — Masters of Homosex: 9 Vintage Books That Lied About Lesbians.

This entry was posted in Authors, Vintage Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shameful Vintage Books About Homosexuality

  1. What primitive human beings, with no signs that they even have a prefrontal cortex. Reminds me of an article I read today, and all the drama being stirred up about a lesbian film Blue Is the Warmest Color..

    I really do have hope for humanity, but when I see shit like this, my first inclination is to recycle these books into toilet paper. They have no other benefit to humanity except to wipe someone’s ass.

    Sorry about the language. I have no patients with bigotry, specially because it brings much harm to others.

    • moore314 says:

      Great article. I’ve long given up trying to understand the religious right. I can only shake my head.
      Love the toilet paper suggestion! No apology necessary for the language. I don’t think there’s any other way to word it!!!
      While I’m of the heterosexual nature, I’ve always tried to understand what it must be like to be gay, by imagining the social opposite is true. That I live in a world where my sexual attraction to a man is a “sin”, forbidden, degrading — and I have to pretend to be attracted to women, live a life of a lie and dammed for hell. I cannot imagine what that would be like.

      • I, too, am of the heterosexual nature. I have several friends who are gay, and dear to me. My friend, Paul, whom I met in Washington, DC, when I was 19, and all alone in a big city to fend for myself, was the first person who came up to my desk on my first day working for the world’s largest engineering firm at the time. Having come from a small, tourist beach town on the Gulf Coast, I was out of my element, and he made me feel like I could do anything. We started riding the metro subway together every evening, and got into the best conversations. We eventually became best friends and stayed in contact through the years.

        For the first couple of years, I didn’t know he was gay, and eventually he told me during one of his out-of-state visits, after we both moved away from D.C. He said he was mortified to share because he thought it would affect our friendship. Sigh. No freaking way would that affect our friendship, but I understood his trepidations considering the rampant homophobia that plagues our culture, no thanks to religion.

        He told me that he knew he was ‘different’ by the time he was four. Paul is one of the most intelligent and compassionate people I’ve ever known. Homophobia has done a great disservice to humanity, and those who promote this bigotry should continually be called out on it and lose status among their peers. They are the instigators of hate crimes against the LGBT’s, which is sharply on the rise.

        New York’s police commissioner Ray Kelly said anti-gay hate crime in New York has spiked 70% this year. 😦

        • moore314 says:

          I know of a gentleman in his 60s who has not accepted his homosexuality. Instead he has chosen to live alone, depressed for most of his adult life, wants nothing more than to be “normal” as he puts it. Don’t people realize this?
          My heart truly breaks. Thanks for sharing, dear.

  2. seeker says:

    Unfortunately, it all boils down to the almighty buck. And then again, paper refuses no ink. I suppose we have to educate most people to refrain from reading these kinds of material.

  3. Reblogged this on My Story Blog and commented:
    Possibly the dumbest quote Pat Robertson made of of all time. … “(T)he feminist agenda is not about equal rights for women. … women to leave their husbands, kill their children, practice witchcraft, destroy capitalism and become lesbians. So I am dreadfully sorry I’ve missed church, I’ve been practicing witchcraft and becoming a lesbian.

  4. quiall says:

    a person is a person is a person regardless of labels.

Please Leave a Reply

